Article 055 c.1962
Patton Swimmers Feted At Aquatic Club Banquet


Thirteen special awards for swimmers, coaches and enthusiasts were presented last Sunday evening at the 1962 Aquatic Awards Banquet sponsored by the Patton Aquatic Booster Club. Of the thirteen, five are members of the Patton Swim Team coached by Harry Hauck. 
They are: Lee Davis, John Westcott, Rick Skarbo, Lynn Makkonen, and Pete Adams. 
Ernest Stengel, Supervisor of the Detroit Department of Parks and Recreation Swimming Division was honored as Patron of the Year. 
Other swimmers and coaches from the Detroit Turners, Women's City Club, Thurston Swim Club, Ann Arbor Swim Club, and Wayne State University were also honored for their contributions to the field of competitive swimming for 1962. 
Matt Mann, Dean of Swimming Coaches in the United States, and Gus Stager, both former Olympic Coaches were present for the banquet and social hour that followed. Matt Mann is well remembered in this area for his successful years as head coach at the University of Michigan. At present he is leading a fine University of Oklahoma team. Gus Stager, the successor of Matt Mann at U. of M. has since coached teams that have won both Big Ten and N.C. A.A. championships.

Clips Index * Home Page