Article 124 c.1971
Spartan Water Polo Club won the men's and Ann Arbor Swim Club the women's Open Water Polo Championship held at Heilmann Pool in Detroit, Mich. 
The Spartan WPC advanced to the championship game undefeated to oppose Detroit Parks and Recreation-Osborn who were tied by Ann Arbor in the opening game of the tournament. After a close first quarter, which ended in a 3-3 tie, the Spartan Club scored seven straight goals over the second and third quarters to open the game up. A 12-goal production from forwards Mark Manrique, Dennis Manrique and Roger Johnson and a crucial block of penalty shot by goalie Tom Sullivan were the key factors in the  eventual 16-6 Spartan victory. 
Final team standings were: Spartan Water Polo Club, first; DPR-Osborn and Ann Arbor, tie for second; Royal Oak A.C., fourth; Golden Serpents S.C., fifth; Wayne State University, sixth. 
In the women's division, Ann Arbor Swim Club ran off to a 5-1 first quarter lead over DPR-Osborn, which turned out to be a decisive factor in their 9-4 victory over Osborn. Osborn's defense slowed the Ann Arbor scoring in the second and third quarters, cutting the margin at the end of three quarters to 6-3. Ann Arbor collected three goals to Osborn's one in the final quarter of the championship game. Maggie Stevens and Kattie Kesslering led the Ann Arbor scoring with three and four goals respectively.
DPR-Osborn took second in the women's tournament and the Golden Serpents Swim Club of East Lansing was third. 
Top scorers in the men's open were: Mark Manrique, Spartans 15, George Saldana, DPR-Osborn 12, Mike Mason, Royal Oak A.C. 12; 12 Roger Johnson, Spartans, 11, and Gary Gottschling, Royal Oak A.C., 10. 
High point players in the women's open were: Maggie Stevens, Ann Arbor 7, Wendy Harding, DPR-Osborn, 6, Kattie Kesslering, Ann Arbor, 4; Martha  Sturgis, Ann Arbor, 4; and Danny Steiner, Golden Serpents, 3.

Clips Index * Home Page